

## Calgary Arts Academy Society Annual General Meeting November 15, 2022

In Attendance:

Directors: Ken McNeill, Court Ellingson, Mallory Graham, Jim McLeod, Josh Dalledonne,

Doug Frenette

Regrets: Susan Wright, John McWilliams, Lorraine Becker, Neil Tichkowsky

Administration: Cole Jordan, Michelle Stonehouse, Cheralyn Doell

- 1. Call to Order (scheduled for 7:00 pm) through ZOOM meeting 8:10
- 2. Approval of Agenda Ken McNeill Considered Approved
- Approval of the Minutes of the November 16, 2021 Annual General Meeting Considered Approved
- 4. **Opening Remarks** Ken McNeill This has been a big year for Calgary Arts Academy. We opened up our third location, Rosscarrock, which has provided facility stability for our community. Our hope is to continue our discussions with Stampede and Alberta Education about a new facility on stampede grounds. Our ongoing partnership with them continues to flourish.

We are celebrating our 20<sup>th</sup> year as a charter school, which is an enormous achievement. Our founder and Superintendent Dale Erickson retired, with Michelle Stonehouse moving into the role seamlessly. Covid was still a going concern last year, but our staff adapted admirably and once again did a fantastic job. Overall it was another fantastic year for Calgary Arts Academy.

5. Presentation of 2021/22 Financial Statements & Auditor's Report – Neil Tichkowsky – The audit came back clean thanks to Coles fine guidance and hard work. We are happy to recommend the 2021-2022 audited financial statements for approval.

**Motion 2022–11-15-1** – Doug Frenette - To approve the 2021/2022 Audited Financial Statements and auditors report as presented – Seconded Jim McLeod – Motion Passes



6. **Recommendation for appointment of 2022/23 Auditor** - Neil Tichkowsky – We continue to have a strong relationship with our auditors at KPMG and recommend re-appointing them for the 2022 – 2023 school year.

**Motion 2022-11-15-2** – Doug Frenette - To re-appoint KPMG as auditors for the 2022/2023 school year as recommended by the board – Seconded Joshua Dalledonne – Motion Passes

7. **AERR Report** – Michelle Stonehouse

**Motion 2022–11-15-3** – Court Ellingson - To approve the 2020/2021 AERR as presented – Seconded Mallory Graham – Motion Passes

8. Election to the Board of Directors – Ken McNeill -

2022 2023 Slate

Ken McNeill

**Neil Tichkowsky** 

John McWilliams

Susan Wright

**Doug Frenette** 

Jim McLeod

Court Ellingson

Joshua Dalledonne

Lorraine Becker

Mallory Graham

**Motion 2022–11-15-4** – Josh Delledonne - To approve the slate of Directors as presented – Seconded Court Ellingson– Motion Passes

9. Final Remarks – Ken McNeill

Thank you for your passion and commitment to the school. It's always a fantastic voyage. It will be interesting to see what happens politically this year, but most of all we are excited to see all the wonderful creations put forward by students and teachers alike.

10. Adjournment -8:18